Arabs

Posted: May 10, 2011 in May 2011

I’m not exactly sure what an Arab is. I think I know what one is. I watched the movie Crash (the one with the dad with a urinary tract infection, not the James Woods one where they watch car crashes and get horny) and there was a part where the Middle Eastern man says “Since when are Persians Arabs?” This confused me. I assumed that more than just people from Arabia were Arabs. I could be wrong though. I haven’t brushed up on my Middle Eastern facts lately. It kind of started with Aladdin and ended with Aladdin 2: The Return of Jafar. They have monkeys that wear vests and fezs. Are these the same people that hate America.

To me, Persians are Arabs. Also, anyone who still uses the word “Persian” is weird. It’s an outdated term. It’s like calling someone from a Western Germanic tribe a Frank, or an Asian an oriental. That term is now reserved for rugs and restaurants. I think maybe cats too. Oriental cat doesn’t sound too odd.

I have nothing against Persians. The first time I ever dominated the game Civilization was when I played as the Persians. I named all of the cities after Simpsons characters. Then when I ran out I moved onto Futurama. I’m not sure why. I never liked Futurama much. I think the city of “Bender” was a major port for my submarine base. That game was fun.

I’m very naive about the world. But that doesn’t matter. I don’t plan on ever going to places that I don’t know about to offend the people. There’s no reason for me to know the difference between a Persian and an Arab. I might someday. If there is ever a gas station called “Persian Oil” then I will know the many differences that those two people have.

Comments
  1. The Hobbler says:

    For some reason I don’t think you would have to go very far at all to offend people. Alright, I should go stalk PMAO’s blog for a bit. He is jealous I think. 😉

Leave a Reply

