Quotations

Posted: October 4, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

“I would rather be hated for who I am, then liked for who I’m not.”

A great quote. But wait, who said that quote? Kurt Cobain of course. Musical genius and front man of the band Nirvana. Wow so inspiring. A quote that says “fuck you everyone, I’m going to live my life how I want to and if you don‘t like it then that‘s your problem.” Here‘s my problem. Cobain killed himself. To me, that devalues the quote entirely.

Conspiracy theorists may argue that Cobain did not kill himself. They say that Courtney Love may have done it or it could have potentially been someone who she hired. I’m no expert, but I have read about his murder further than the Wikipedia page about it. I firmly believe that Cobain acted in freewill to take his own life. The guy wanted to name his last album “I Hate Myself and I Want To Die.” Instead of seeing this as a cry for help, the record company made him change it to “In Utero.” Maybe record companies really are as big of bastards as the Sex Pistols claim.

Cobain killed himself when he had a lot of young troubled teens who looked up to him, a lot of friends, and most importantly a daughter who had to grow up without a father. Continue being yourself Kurt, and don’t care that I think you were a shitty person for doing that to your fans, friends, and family. If you hated being famous so much then how about don’t become the most influential musician of the 90s. Or maybe make some crappy songs instead. Oh wait, you tried that with the second half of “In Utero” and by playing bad covers on your Unplugged CD. Just because you like Bowie doesn’t mean you have to play his song on your CD you pretentious hipster.

“Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country.”

Going away from saying how lousy this quote is, I want to discuss where it came from. It was of course said by then President John F. Kennedy, whom we now know had the F. stood for “Fucking.” Despite the dick-mongering he did, JFK was a pretty good president. That quote coming from him is inspiring. It rallies us all together and makes us think that we all are one. Lets help each other out! Now lets say someone else said this quote. I’ll go to my go to man, Hitler. If good old Adolph said that then that quote would be one of the most notoriously evil quotes of all time. My point, a quote is only as valuable as to who says it. Actions speak louder than words.

I don’t quote others often. I think most of what people say is stupid. Sometimes I see great quotes, but I have to worry about being sued for plagiarism. A goal for all of us in life should be to say something that is so valuable that others quote us. Not on Facebook though. Once you become a Facebook quote then you know you’ve probably only ever said something stupid while drunk.

*Note: This blog was the inspiration of the fact that SiriusXM satellite radio briefly had a channel devoted to Nirvana called Nevermind Radio. It’s on the same station that usually is called Lithium, already named after a Nirvana song. Go figure.

Comments
  1. I bet you never felt like you couldn’t cope with your life?

  2. Smart Guy says:

    Dark, yet refreshing. I like how you are able to diss someone in particular, praise them, return to the diss, and finally end with dissing the entire human population. Bold.

Leave a Reply

