Dirty Hands

Posted: October 18, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Preface: I had written this previous to my last post that I made entitled Unknown Origins. I’d put a link here for it, but that was about 2 hours ago. I don’t think you’re that lazy or stupid to find it. I thought I’d post this to get it out of the way as they kind of go together. It’s another observation I have made about how WWII is depicted in film.

I started watching the HBO miniseries Band of Brothers recently. I’m not here to review it or anything. The only mention I want to make is that I managed to recognize that Endless Mike Helstrom from The Adventure of Pete & Pete plays one of the soldiers in it. I thought that was great. The arch nemesis of Big Pete grows up to become a war hero. All Big Pete has done with his life is have me thinking I saw him walking around at a gas station. Tall redheads look very similar.

One thing I noticed with the show is that everyone is dirty on it. Really dirty. Especially their hands. I never see people with hands that dirty in real life. What has changed?

I think dirty hands are gross like anybody else. I also think that doing much more than washing your hands is unnecessary. Germaphobes carry around wipes and different liquid hand sanitizers with them to avoid having dirty hands. I don’t know about this. Your hands don’t possible need to be that clean. Moses lived to be like 600 or something and that was without soap. Okay, maybe that’s a silly example. The guy lived on a boat with all those animals, no soap, no toilet paper, on a boat full of animal shit for 40 days and he didn’t get any disease. I buy it! To use a more realistic example, take anyone born pre-1930. Some of those people lived pretty long. They didn’t have swiffer sweepers, toilets, that liquid soap where you don’t need paper towels, dish soap, those doctors masks that Asians always wear while traveling, none of it! Yet they still managed to live a long time. Germs aren’t as powerful as you think.

I understand that there were a few WWII veterans that contracted viruses or infections due to how unclean the conditions were. Well, people in all jobs get infections. You can get an infection by shaking hands with a fellow employee. It’s amazing that every war veteran didn’t come back with an infection. People were made to have dirty hands. We spent time crawling on the ground and now we have evolved. Along with that has come an immunity to having dirty hands.

The difference between those WWII veterans and my generation is amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who could have been a soldier back then. We all need soft tissues and comfy pillows. We don’t leave the house unless our hair gel makes us look “messy.” Those guys back then didn’t give a shit about any of that. They just wanted to save the world after being attacked. They volunteered to go to war. After 9/11 happened, a lot of people did the same. Not nearly as much though. I don’t really know what the difference was. If anything, 9/11 hit so much closer to home. Times were different 60-70 years ago. I can’t imagine a situation where anyone I have ever met could become a war hero. We need to dirty up our hands a little bit. Become real men.

I still do think that it’s gross to not wash your hands after taking a leak. I see a lot men do this and I know women who don’t. That’s uncalled for. At least get the hands wet. Make an attempt to care for yourself. If you enjoy dirty hands so much then join the army. It’s a better reason than some kids who join because they just want to kill.

Comments
  1. One of the soldiers in BoB was in a WKD (a vodka drink) advert here in the UK, the contrast is quite amusing.

    It’s also easy to elevate the soldiers in WWII to angelic status but you have to remember that many of them had no real knowledge of the politics behind the war. The armed forces were also as full of feckless youths back then as they are now.

    • mooselicker says:

      Oh yeah I was amazed that nearly all of the soldiers in the show (based on real people) hadn’t had any previous experience and didn’t stay in the military either despite being highly ranked.

      You know it was all about politics when immediately after we went to war with our allies the Russians. This coming from the perspective of America. I’m not really sure if you Brits had much to do with the Cold War.

      • Oh we got involved alright. At one point Churchill was quite keen on fighting the Russians once the Germans were dealt with.

        Luckily he realised it was a bit of a silly idea.

  2. renxkyoko says:

    Oh, hi ! You’re now on my blogroll.

    Cheers!

  3. Jessica says:

    I work with a bunch of drivers who come back from the road with filthy hands and dip their dirty hands into candy dishes and what not like its no thing. The candy dish people had to start buying wrapped candies. The drama!

    Slightly, but not completely off topic, Think about how smelly the world use to be before sanitation and soap came to be? People and places and things all smelled like shit, I am certain! People who lived in deserts and humid places like Africa or middle east….they had to be the worst!

    • mooselicker says:

      It’s strange to think that George Washington smelt like ass. But so did everyone else. Even if it existed, he wouldn’t have worn cologne. The Hessians would smell him coming.

      My uncle always has dirty hands, but that’s probably the most normal thing about him.

  4. talker96 says:

    The Adventures of Pete and Pete reference was the funniest thing I’ve read all day. Just for that alone you are now being followed by me. If you can somehow squeeze in a Parker Lewis can’t lose reference I swear I’ll put you on my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

