Fish do not wear hats. Why is this? My theory is fish do not know what hats are. They never walk by a Lids store in the mall and think “How does that place stay open?” I think fish should wear hats. It would be cute. A little top hat on a flounder might make me reconsider how delicious they are. Most fish also probably do not wear hats because they have no hair. Imagine that. Being completely hairless. What fish lack in hair they make up for in being slimy. Weird thing is several hairless people I have met could have the same said about them. Continue on for more about hats.

I’m not sure when the hat was invented. I like to think it was sometime more recent. The Flinstones never wore hats so they’re not all that old. American Patriots wore hats. So sometimes between the time when pelicans were used for mixing cement and British women put fake moles on their faces, hats were created. I think the main purpose of a hat is to keep your head warm. You never see an Eskimo wearing a hat much though. Probably because they don’t have any sports teams of note anywhere nearby. Are you going to be like Glenn on The Walking Dead and wear a plain white hat with no design?

(Maybe the plain whiteness could be used by the Eskimo to designate snow. Those nose rubbers love snow)

When I was younger I had a hat collection. The probably with a hat collection is nobody cares about it. You can’t bring in a lot of hats on show-and-tell. You look like you’re holding the remnants from a terrible bus accident which was filled with bald men, gangsters, and women from the Red Hat Society. I had these hangers I could use to display the hats openly for my zero friends who ever came over to visit. I hate two hats from the Anaheim Mighty Ducks. Once a girl with a funny name asked me if I liked the team or the movie. I told her I liked the movie. Then she said Darth Vader was from Star Trek. Suddenly I felt less ridiculous for owning two hats from the same movie.

I wear a hat most days to work. It’s an Opie & Anthony cap I got years ago. The hat is pretty beat up at this point. I continue to wear it anyway. For several reasons. The first being I want to be known as “the guy in the hat” and not something worse. You see, I nickname everyone I meet. I did not want to risk getting a negative adjective attached to myself by the cruel people I encounter in my daily life. Always wearing a hat made it an easy distinguishing feature. I’m also very superstitious. Since I got the hat I have not died. My third reason for wearing the hat is I wore it every day so often that I felt naked without it. My sense of balance was off. Tossing a hat upon my head not only helped to keep me from falling over, it allowed me to avoid combing my hair or worrying about any top-of-forehead-zits.

(An actual silhouette of me not wearing a hat and falling. Yes, my right hand has 3 fingers and a talon)

It’s the other people’s hat wearing habits which bug me. I wear hats of things I enjoy. Sports teams, entertainment references, crude sayings have all been on my hats. Let’s say there is this guy I have declared my mortal enemy. He has done nothing wrong other than wear hats of 3 different sports teams. I mentioned him briefly in another post. Back when all he had worn was a Colorado Rockies hat. Now he has worn a Toronto Blue Jays and a New York Yankees one. His first name starts with an M so it’s not like he’s trying to be a rapper. There isn’t an M hidden anywhere in those team names. Does he just like the colors? Is he an idiot? No. I’m the idiot. An idiot for not removing his hat for him.

One time a hat saved my life. In 6th grade we had a class called SFA. I forget what it stood for. All I remember was Joey “Lollipop” Ryan claiming his dog had a valid reaction to a note he wrote her. This day in class we were supposed to share a very special item in our lives. I remember one fat bully saying “I just wore my football jersey” and it was special because his mom wouldn’t let him play football. The teacher could tell he forgot his very special item. She turned to me. It was my turn. I too like this football jersey wearing asshole (seriously, he’s in the top 5 worst human beings I have ever met) forgot my special item. Lucky for me, I was a hat wearer. I yanked out my Tampa Bay Devil Rays hat. I told the story how I got the hat when I was down in Florida on vacation. The teacher smiled. I had pleased her hunger for special items. I probably shouldn’t have said the hat saved my life, but it helped me out. Back then grades were everything. I probably would have killed myself if I got a zero for the day in a useless class meant to raise self-esteem.

I could go on forever about hats. There are so many types. The chef hat, Cat in the Hat hat, ones with propellers, visors, square paper ones, and so on. You know the types. Any polyester that can be placed on your head could be considered a hat. They’re multipurpose and come in so many colors and designs. They function like shirts but for our heads. I would never want to live in a world without hats. They let people know we’re hungover and it’s almost always a good way to spot a bisexual chick.

(The Man in the Yellow Hat is not a woman. Therefore he is not bisexual. Sex with young curious monkeys are the only way he swings)

“Despite all my rage I am still just a hat in a cage.” – Bullet with Butterfly Wings, Billy “Cueball” Corgan

Comments
  1. AgrippingLife says:

    I love hats only and obviously because I think I look good in them. I have a big head so only certain styles are flattering. I look really bad in a cowboy hat or a bowler. It’s laughable. the bigger the rim the better I look. I’d do well at the Kentucky derby or England’s Ascot. As for men, eh, I can take em or leave em. It’s all in a person’s attitude and confidence. If someone is wearing a hat for hiding purposes it’s usually not attractive.
    I’ve been wanting to do a hat post for awhile – good job.

  2. Pete Howorth says:

    I miss my beanie, I’ve never been much of a hat wearer before because I used to style my hair but since the head injury, my hair doesn’t look right anymore so I have it shaved and wear a beanie that makes me look well gangsta.

    I think I’ve lost it somewhere between France and my house, never to be seen again. I need to buy a new one so I can start saying the N word and get away with it again.

  3. Lily says:

    So weird that you put those lyrics at the bottom. I just put that song on my newest mix. I feel like we’ve done this before. Perhaps with a third eye blind song? Or a blink 182 song or something. Hats are cool. they look better on guys. Well, I don’t know if they look better on guys, but they look more normal on guys. Girls have no need for hats because girl hair is awesome. No one should cover it up. Unless they have a dyke hair cut or something.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Talk about being on the same wave length! At least it’s good we know we’re on opposite sides of the continent and can’t possibly be stalking each other.

      I used to be obsessed with my hair and also obsessed with wearing hats. I guess I still am. I think about them both often. But I always end up doing nothing with my hair and toss on a hat instead. Girls at sporting matches look good with hats. It’s like they really understand baseball rules.

  4. When reading that first sentence, I’m pretty sure I’m right when saying you’re one of the weirdest people I’ve ever met. Join in!
    I do have a hat, which I like to wear because I believe it gives you something mysterious, or at least classy. Plus, it keeps your hair from going crazy due to the rain. It’s a win-win.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Some people need clarity on whether or not fish wear hats. I’m educational.

      I imagine you wear hats with feathers in them. Why don’t you invent a time machine and move back to the 1930s already?

  5. Fish do have a Lids under the water. It consist of lids to cups, dips, actual hats people have lost. A wide assortment…And they are all free.

    And I am not the Flintstones expert that I once was, but didn’t Fred wear a fez to his club?

    • Mooselicker says:

      I don’t consider those episodes of the Flinstones real episodes. They were after the main artist, Frank Allevero, quit. Several voices changed and the plots became tame and less sexual in nature. Real Flinstones episodes never contained hats. Sorry to be a real stickler on this made up issue, but I have to back track to seem legit.

  6. I am one of the few who looks a wee bit better without a hat on. Every time I find a foreign thing atop my head, I feel good knowing that I have something the next person don’t have. Then I look at some form of looking glass and find myself wishing no one noticed me the whole time I was wearing the hat. It’s not too hard to picture how I look like. Can you imagine Spongebob Squareface with a hat? There you have it.

  7. Start a charity… hats for halibuts… fez’s for flounders… caps for carps… top hats for trouts…
    Hats were indeed invented by a caveman… one Oglethorpe P. Vanstiltstone, when a condor died of a massive heart attack and landed on Oggie’s head. He, suffering from early onset male pattern baldness, decide that the look just worked, somehow. He left the bird on his head for six years.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Next time I write a post based on history I am going to you first. I was close though but you have such a greater understanding of human history. Or at least the history of hats.

      • I am old, so I have lived through more history than you. Also, I have studied history for 35 years. And I spend a lot of time thinking about what kind of hats fish would wear and other important stuff like that threre.

Leave a Reply

