In an attempt to do more things other than write TV pilots that just sit as PDF files on my computer with nobody caring about them whatsoever, I decided a little over a week ago I should try to make my own show. I have an obsession with episodic storylines where we can watch a character grow along the way while others come and go. I tried acting in one idea I had which I still think is a great idea, only I’m a terrible actor and it would have taken me forever to do the editing because the free program I was using moved too slowly. If I wanted to create my own web series I would have to resort to animation. I found a free Stick Figure program online that I read was really simple. I tested it out and the next day I got to putting an actual idea together. The result, 4 straight days of hardly doing anything else other than animating stick figures to move, swear, and violently kill each other. In the end after what was a ridiculous amount of time I put into it, this was the result. The debut of Stick Prison an ultraviolent, bloody, foul comedy about Stick Figures in prison.

 

Feedback, ideas, or help in any way either creatively or simply by sharing this is anywhere you can think of is much appreciated.

Final Notes:

The YouTube URL in case you feel so inclined is: youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_5pE6bcnmI&feature=youtu.be

The second episode should be out in 2 weeks.

Yes I did everything except the music. But I did have to search through a free archive for 4 hours to find something good. I did suffer.

I’m really tired.

STICK PRISON graffiti

Comments
  1. renxkyoko says:

    LOL ! He got 20 years for illegally copying a dvd? Or did I mishear?

  2. rebecca2000 says:

    You’re so creative. Keep your stick figures away from mine. They might like my boobs.

    No, really hubby and I watched it together. I don’t have constructive criticism but I think it is awesome you can do this.

  3. sladamarmee says:

    Dude! Grindprison? Slick.

  4. I like the Jamaican (?) character a lot. Nice work. “What were you baptized as?” LOL. Have you ever seen the Dolan cartoons?

    • Mooselicker says:

      He started off as Jamaican then the next day I couldn’t do a Jamaican accent so I changed his name from Jamaican Frank to Disambiguous Accent Frank because he sounded too Indian and Italian in the last scene.

      Never seen the cartoons until I just Googled them. Is Disney on his ass for that? I know they’re real angry about copyright infringement.

  5. Luddy's Lens says:

    “Fine, be that way.”

    “He’s partially deaf and speaks loudly.”

    “…this group…”

    Such gritty authenticity!

  6. Lily says:

    I really grew attached to dis-ambiguous accent Frank. I’m sad to see him go. It seems like a lot of work went into this! It’s very creative. Nice job! How long did it take to do?

    • Mooselicker says:

      Oh man I killed off a beloved character too quickly. Maybe it can all be a dream sequence like in Dallas or whatever that show was where they did it.

      How long? Way too. If it could have been my full-time job. I have a new respect for animators.

      • Lily says:

        I liked that their mouths actually moved. That must have been hard to time. Do you time it? I don’t know. This is too beyond me.

      • Mooselicker says:

        I pretty much have the mouths move at the same rate constantly and adjusted during longer pauses for them to not move just to make it look a little more accurate. And you’re 100% in thinking that’s the most obnoxious thing to do. Expect a lot more long shots and reaction shots in the future ha. It took me about 6 hours last night to record and match up animation with the dialogue for the second episode. It’s still less annoying than me trying to act.

  7. josefkul says:

    Hahaha… This was great. Uncensored cartoon violence is the best. It’s probably the only reason I watched the show Muppet Babies growing up. You may not see it right away, but the extremely racist uncensored violence is all in the subtext. Muppet Babies was deep.

    Like all annoying film goers I have some suggested dialogue for episode 2:

    Scary prison roommate: Is that a giant dick in your pants!

    Prisoner: No, it’s just my delightfully oversized prison shank. Prepare to be penetrated!

    commence stabbing…. End scene

    I agree with Lily, dis-ambiguous accent Frank was the best. Will he have a close friend or relative out to seek revenge in episode 2?

    PS Thanks for not showing any prison rape!

    • Mooselicker says:

      Hahaha I’ll definitely use your dialogue somewhere down the line.

      We think too alike. A dead character’s relative seeking revenge was definitely going to have to happen.

      And prison rape will happen so get excited and cover your lap with a pillow.

  8. Pete Howorth says:

    Bahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!

  9. Loved it – one eye made me chuckle – perhaps a posh English baddie/warden?

  10. Cafe says:

    So hilarious. You had me laughing out loud. I was a little sad to see Harvey kill Frank at the end, maybe I felt he was becoming bad too fast. I think part of his charm was his innocent demeanour. I think all of the little facial expressions panning back and forth from the characters added so much to it and was part of the comedy. I loved Amistad’s character, he was funny. And the wheelchair guy too, I forgot his name now. His old grandpa voice is hilarious! Looking forward to seeing more interesting characters on your show. Great work!! 🙂

    • Mooselicker says:

      Thanks Janice! You’re the 4th person who was upset about poor Frank dying. I already have a way to please the fans. Ugh too bad it will take me months to get there ha. This feedback was great and helpful. I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  11. […] created an entire movie with it. I’m still at the click-and-hope-for-the-best stage. Anyway…it’s fun. And […]

  12. robpixaday says:

    Geez, I didn’t “Like” this. Meant to. It’s terrific!
    And I had to say thanks:
    http://robpixaday.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/oooo-fun-thank-you-mooselicker/

    Some of the people who look at my site are the kind who will want to try Stykz.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

