Parts of this piece may come off a little crazy but I assure you it’s complete fact. For a time I was not very charismatic. I didn’t understand how to express emotions or let out any positive energy. Then a funny thing happened. I realized I had to find my inner personality by taking social cues from others. Unfortunately most people I know are blend and not anything like the person I’d like to be. So, I turned to a few fictionalized characters to figure myself out. Whenever I feel inadequate socially I pretend to be the following people:

The Joker

the joker

One of the most memorable film characters from a Christian Bale movie that came out in the last 10 years featuring Gary Oldman as someone with the last name Gordon, The Joker was the main character I ever tried to behave like. I never did bad things or was nearly as sinister him. I simply studied his mannerisms in hopes I could use them in my everyday life to make me appear more charming/give me a better chance at winning an acting award.

The important thing The Joker taught me was the ability to raise and lower your voice to show emphasis. The Joker is probably bipolar or has split personality disorder which is why he’s constantly changing. I like to tell myself it makes me the Pixies of verbalizing in which I can be really soft one moment and really loud the next. I swear it’s not as strange as it sounds.

I told someone who knows me well how I used The Joker to help develop a more charismatic personality. Her response was “Now that you mention it, that makes so much sense.”

Bane

tom-hardy-bane-dark-knight-rises-02

I swear I’m not a big comic book geek. I’m not really all too nerdy in general. I haven’t seen one of the original Star Wars movies since DVDs were invented. Nerd references are just easy to make. More people will know who Han Solo is than will ever know Cy Young, the most winning pitcher in baseball history. It’s important to be relatable and that’s something Bane taught me.

I become Bane whenever I feel like I need to appear tough or just correct my posture. Man that guy has some nice posture. Of course I look nothing like Bane and it’s really all in my head as is the case with anything else. So long as I feel like I’m an unstoppable tough guy, pretending like I am Bane will boost my confidence. The most important thing is I don’t begin talking like him because people may think I am disabled.

I never told anyone about this before but the fact I asked for a Bane mask for my birthday last year makes it a little obvious.

Chris Jericho/CM Punk

JerichoPunk_original_crop_650x440

As if pretending to be fake Batman villains wasn’t nerdy and embarrassing enough, now I’m going to tell you how I take social cues from professional wrestlers. CM Punk and Chris Jericho are essentially the same characters. They’re cocky, arrogant, and another synonym that means cocky and arrogant. I would never use those words to describe my own personality however adding a little bit of balls to who I am is a good thing.

The most valuable things I learned from these two gentlemen was how to stand with confidence in front of others while all eyes are on you. Calmly they can remain poised and expel their rhetoric to thousands of angry wrestling fans. Wrestling fans of course are only one step above NASCAR fans because the WWE fans also enjoy theatrics which takes some brain power.

I don’t think anyone knows I ever tried behaving like wrestlers but really is it that strange? They are after all at least digging into their own personalities somewhat. Even if their real names are Phil Brooks and Christopher Irvine and they only play characters on television, they are still people I can learn something from.

Have you ever used a movie or TV character to help you fix a personality flaw? Say yes. I don’t want to feel weird.

Comments
  1. Fred from “Scooby Doo” was pretty awesome, no?

  2. Lily says:

    This is a very interesting concept that I never thought much about, but I’m actually guilty of it myself. I think in high school I took cues from Cher from Clueless which kind of turned me into a biatch. I always got frustrated watching the Little Princess or a movie where the character was super wholesome and sweet because I knew I would never be like that.

    • Mooselicker says:

      I think my next person I will imitate will be Tim from Tim’s Place. I don’t think this is such a strange concept though. It’s almost like having a mantra. Mantra is an old word right? Nobody would create a new word that looks so strange.

      • Lily says:

        Mantra reminds me of praying mantis. I hate myself.
        But yeah, you should be more like Tim. Hell, everyone should be more like Tim.

  3. High School Musical came out when I was but an insecure high school lowlife. Naturally I took the cue from all the lead characters that time. When Vanessa Hudgens showed her tits and pubes for all the kids to see, my world was practically shred to pieces.

    But really, I always looked up to Hermione Granger. Gosh I’m such a geek.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Wait, are you saying you’re not still an insecure high school lowlife? I hope that feeling goes away some day.

      Hermione isn’t the worst person to look up to. Aren’t geeks cool now anyway? It seems like you got a head start.

  4. Pete Howorth says:

    Hah we’re so much alike it’s uncanny. I so wish I had a Bane coat. I’d say I sometimes pretend to be like Sawyer from Lost, I’ll often throw in a couple “Freckles” to whatever girl I’m talking to. I would literally kill to look and speak like that man.

    • Mooselicker says:

      I forgot you’d be someone who would enjoy all of these people. I have a friend who pretends to be Jason Statham. Imagine someday people may pretend to be us. Could you imagine? I would die jacking off to the idea.

Leave a Reply

