Better Than Bad 3D Movie Adaptations

Posted: May 9, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Are you sick and tired of bad movies? I am. The only thing that can make a bad movie even better is when it is shot in 3D, right? That always makes up for the fact that the plot sucks, the action is lame, and it barely keeps true to the original story it was based on. Even worse, sometimes that original story wasn’t even that good, but they still make us read it in 11th grade then make us watch the bad 1970s film adaptation that has a 34% rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Well, I’m sick of it all.

Not only are there many bad movies and books out there in the world, there is such little time to waste on them. Sure you can read Cliff Notes, but that feels like cheating to me. In high school I rarely would ever read any books that were assigned to us all the way through. Still, I somehow managed to graduate easily and I even got pretty good grades. I think the problem is the books they make us read in high school are incredibly outdated and lack the same kind of action that we can see in films we actually choose to see. What would be wrong with allowing students to choose from a list of books to read? Since nobody ever listens to me and my ideas, I decided to do high school students everywhere a favor. I took a classic book and a classic movie then combined the two. The result, The Gimp Gatsby.

Rather than tell you why you should pick up a FREE copy of this book today or during another time when it will be free, I will tell you more why this is a better investment than some of the other similar options out there, like a terrible glorified unnecessarily made film that you may hear about this weekend. Here are ten reasons why you should choose my book over this film.

1) My book is free. This movie will probably cost you around $12 or however much movies are.

2) My book will probably take longer than 2 hours to complete. You can also read it again whereas the movie you will only be able to watch once for the price you pay.

3) You already know the story in the film. Gay guy visits cousin, cousin is cheating on abusive husband with rich guy, cousin hits husband’s mistress with rich guy’s car, mistress’s husband thinks it was rich guy and kills rich guy, nothing else happens.

4) Only probably like three people will get killed in this 3D film which feels like a waste to me. If I made a 3D movie I would have bodies flying at the audience all the way through. Do you know how many people get killed in my book? A lot!

5) I’ll say thank you if you read it and your readership will actually make a difference. Nobody will thank you for seeing this movie and you’re just a number to them, a number based on money more than as an individual.

6) You will learn more about history from my book than you will this film. There are appearances by historical figures like Fatty Arbuckle, Lou Gehrig, Amelia Earhart, and more! You will also learn how the rabies vaccine was created and why The Titanic sunk.

7) Unlike the movie you can see this weekend, the gangsters in my book behave like real gangsters. They say “motherfucker” and they poop.

8) In a way, this saves you a lot of time. Not only do I cover a “Great American Novel” and pretty much summarize all of the important points you would ever need to know about it, I also cover everything you need to know about several of my favorite movies, most notably ones with a sexual submissive gimps in pawnshop basements.

9) Are you too pop-culture slow to not realize this is basically a combination of The Great Gatsby and Pulp Fiction? I really hope someone didn’t just say “Ohhhh!”

10) The 3D movie you can choose to see this weekend may make you want to go back to the 1920s. I’ll do you one better. I’ll make you glad you live in 2013. Time machines don’t exist yet. Any movie that’s best feature is that it makes you wish you lived in another era is not doing its job. This movie glorifies an era that was not very glamorous for many people. Don’t let the Moulin Rouge imagery fool you into wasting your time.

I did a post way back in September called Big Helpers where I needed places to visit in Los Angeles and 1920s things to try including. If anything I think this gives you a good estimation on how many months I went without touching this thing until I finally felt motivated to finish it.

This will probably be the last book I will bother you with for some time. It’s only free for today so pick up a copy. It’ll be free again other days, but I want to try spreading them out as I’m still trying to figure out this whole “becoming a popular author” thing. Is it too late to get Mark David Chapman to carry around a copy and shoot someone?

the gimp gatsby cover

Comments
  1. tinkadele says:

    A convincing argument, I’m sold.

  2. You had me at number four.

    Please tell us you’ll mutilate that Gimp in this book. Damn, I’ve always hated his/her character in Pulp Fiction. I want to possess Bruce Willis while watching the movie and do something more brutal to the gimp. Omg, does this probably tells I’m a sadist.

    And what’s with the “last”?

    • Mooselicker says:

      Wouldn’t hurting the gimp in Pulp Fiction just give him exactly what he wanted? I can’t remember what happens to the gimp in this book. I only read through it 50 times. It was the 1920s though. Gimps were everywhere.

      Last as in I’m not really committed to any ideas at the moment. It seems to take me about 9 or 10 months to finish something of this length. I’ve got other things I need to work on anyway, like writing bad movies and having a real job.

  3. Unfortunately I’m really busy now reading 10 other books, but if I ever find the time, I’ll def read it.
    If.
    Ever.
    *sigh*

  4. modeejae says:

    Thanks for the heads up! I just got it and will likely spend hours and hours reading it 🙂 No really, thanks! I just missed getting your last one. I’ll have to look for it again.

  5. The Waiting says:

    Well you know I’m in.

  6. rossmurray1 says:

    Grabbed it. I’ve essentially stopped watching movies, which is sad because it used to be one of my favourite things. Now I find it just too much same same same. Probably watching the wrong movies. Last brave movie I saw: Four Lions. I think you’d like it.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Thanks! There are still a lot of good movies out there. I don’t know how many are worth paying to see in the theater though. Four Lions? I will have to remember that.

  7. I am so sick of Great Gatsby – seen the bizarre trailer too many times that I feel like I have already seen it. I can only imagine that yours will be much more entertaining!

    • Mooselicker says:

      I haven’t heard a single good thing said about to from a reputable source. It’s all college-aged girls pretending they liked the book. Shut up. You can’t like the Real Housewives and The Great Gatsby. Impossible.

  8. Luddy's Lens says:

    The Titanic “sank.” The Titanic *has* sunk. The Titanic did sink.

    #grammarpolice

    I’m late to the party for the freebie, but for .99, what the hell. I mean, according to Amazon, I’m still saving six bucks!

    (Also, “sank” and “sunk” are two of those words that start blowing one’s mind if looked at too long.)

    • Mooselicker says:

      And to think I actually did have someone edit through this for me.

      Thanks for picking it up. I appreciate it and the 35 cents I will make from the purchase.

Leave a Reply

