Today I received confirmation that I absolutely suck. The confirmation came in the form of Internet comments from complete strangers–the people whose opinion matters most to me.

Here are a few of the comments:

“The person who wrote this should have been aborted instead of being allowed to live.”

“Whoever wrote this has a small dick.”

“Really? They let this crap on the Internet? There’s no substance!”

Those were just three comments taken from a place where I received a lot of insults about something I worked hard at for a brief amount of time. They were from my dad, my girlfriend, and Perez Hilton respectively.

Where was this place I was publicly trashed? It was on Yahoo. No not that lousy Yahoo Voices place where everybody can write. This came from an actual Yahoo Sports article I wrote. Last night I finally figured out how to apply to be an official Yahoo Sports beat writer. I put together and article and submitted it. Today while taking a piss I checked my email and saw I had been accepted. I am now officially one of those people who has random people on the Internet comment how I should hang myself.

The article can be found right here in this really long link. I will be writing about my favorite baseball team, the Philadelphia Phillies. I’m always determined to never read comments because they will make me feel like shit. I mostly find it strange that when I try to write something very PC with little controversy I get shit on. This is why people say mean things, other people say mean things to them first.

I will not let someone telling me I’m worse than the Phillies outfield get me down. The guy who said I wrote this with a dick in my hand will not make me cry. I am happy to get some confirmation from Yahoo Sports that I do not suck, even if the public disagrees.

Comments
  1. Lauri says:

    I would never ever read comments on something I wrote. It’s obvious that all you have to post is “The sky is blue, most of the time, when there are no clouds, during the day.”
    And you would have people shrieking for your execution. People who comment on the internet are idiots.
    Ooops. Gotta go.

  2. “Whoever wrote this has a small dick.”

    Timmy, you have a micropenis. :3

  3. DUH'Merica says:

    I’m a lifelong Tampa sports fan and good luck writing honest, critical pieces about Philly. As you know, Philly fans can be downright evil. Good luck with that.

  4. rossmurray1 says:

    I would never be able to resist reading comments, no matter how noxious.
    congrats on the gig.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Thanks Ross. I think the fact that the first comment said I sucked and it had a thumb up made me think I should just not bother. I can resist anything if I never try it once. Like dating in high school. I was totally fine with being alone on prom night because I didn’t know better….

      😦

  5. Don’t read the comments and don’t avoid the controversy. To do so would probably make your writing far less interesting. Be YOU and be fantastic.

  6. Lily says:

    I can’t believe people are so mean. I mean, I can believe it, but I hate it. Why are they so passionate with their hatred towards your sports post? Like, sooo much energy must be wasted in order to hate someone that they’ve never met. Either way, just let it roll off your shoulders. Yahoo picked you to write for them. Any old Joe can write a stupid comment.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Maybe this is karma for me posting “Thanks a lot Obama!” on an article about pizza. I only posted it to see if people would take it negative or positive. They of course all took it as sarcasm, or at least the one person. I’m not really bothered. I got a lot of views on the article.

  7. That’s ridiculous. People are mean. I mean, quite a few of your posts have actually been legible! The nerve.

Leave a Reply

