Another thing I wrote for that website that never ended up existing. My Review of the Television Show Weeds:

weeds(Nice choice of characters to put here. Three of them aren’t even in half the series)

If all you did was look at the title, show description, and DVD covers, you would swear this was a show that could only be appreciated by potheads. I have smoked pot once in my life. I was 17, ‘twas the night before Christmas, and my mother yelled “fuck you” at me when I refused to help her set up the Christmas tree. What kind of mother does that? Everybody knows if you don’t set up your Christmas tree at least three weeks before Christmas then you damn well better be able to figure out how to do it on your own.

I only began to watch Weeds because a friend with good taste recommended it to me. Most of the people I have in my life have terrible taste. Being friends with me is the perfect example.

Weeds starts off in Season One with Nancy Botwin, played by the incredibly sexy Mary Louise Parker, already as a drug dealer. There’s no real origin story, although it’s clear why she got into the business. Her husband Judah died of a heart attack while jogging and dealing pot is the only way she can maintain the lifestyle her family had grown accustomed to.

mary louise parker nose(I am convinced she has the most perfect nose int he world. I bet her creepy uncles were always taking it when she was younger)

Nancy has two sons who are there with her throughout the series. Silas is the older son and Shane is the younger one. Silas is confident, handsome, and has the drive to do great things. Throughout the series we watch as he goes from a stud high school student with only a few insecurities into a stud man who on the inside might still be a little bit of a child. Shane is a lot different from Silas. We learn quickly that Shane might be a psychopath. He does have the same drive and adventurous spirit as his older brother which helps him survive in the chaotic world his mother has created for the family.

In addition to the immediate family, Uncle Andy Botwin enters the picture a few episodes into the show. At first I found him annoying. He seemed to get everything to go his way despite never trying very hard in life. Over time I grew to absolutely love Uncle Andy. When same sex marriage with fictional characters is legal, I plan on being Andy’s bride.

Weeds_1_lg(Left to right: Silas, Nancy, Shane, Andy, my invisible friend Manny that only I can see in pictures)

Along with an endless colorful cast of characters, the Botwins get into every adventure you could imagine a family could when drugs are involved. From dealing with the police, secret agents, the Armenian mafia, thugs, the Mexican drug cartel, and Nacy’s inability to keep her pants on around men, the family is never at a loss for trouble.

Weeds is a show that goes to places you could never imagine it would. The first three seasons all takes place in their small California suburb Agrestic where everyone becomes a doctor, a lawyer, or a business executive. Nancy’s only real trouble comes from her evil friend Celia who is a big antagonist throughout much of the series. Once Nancy gets the drug business down better, Celia is less of a threat as all she can really do is get the rest of the PTA to turn on Nancy.

Another memorable and loveable character from this show is Doug Wilson played by Saturday Night Live alum Kevin Nealon. He plays the shittiest accountant ever which doesn’t say much considering the current economic downturn we have been experiencing for the last forever many years. Doug starts off as a less than important character with some great lines and some good B-plots. Eventually he joins along for the full ride, going with the Botwins wherever they travel to. His love of marijuana is the main thing that calls him to stay around Nancy. After all, there’s nothing better than MILF Weed.

doug wilson(That’s right TBS fans! The host of the Funniest Commercials or whatever that lame show was called is on this show)

After eight seasons on air, Weeds completed its story last summer. The show goes so many places both with the character development and in the show’s main setting. It’s cleverly written to a point where the seriousness of danger melds perfectly with the comedy. This is sometimes a terribly depressing show as death, rejection, and hating your family are some of the main themes.

Nancy Botwin might possibly be the worst mother ever. Perhaps her biggest crime is we don’t get to see her naked until Season Four. It doesn’t matter if you have ever smoked pot or what your opinion on marijuana even is. This show is not about dealing drugs. This show is about a family, their friends, their enemies, and what happens to them because the mom has refused to get a normal job.

This show is must see. The style is unique and you will find yourself at times hating the main character because of how selfish she can be yet you will still love her anyway. But isn’t that how we feel about our own families? They can say “fuck you” to us all they want on Christmas Eve. We still show up because we love them.

Comments
  1. I watched that show once…

  2. I was impressed with Weeds through like the first five or six seasons. I don’t think that I have watched the final two seasons. It just kind of jumped shark for me after awhile, but I agree that the first four or five seasons were great and should be watched.

    • Mooselicker says:

      There were definitely parts toward the end where it wasn’t any good. I really liked the one season later on when they were on the road the whole time. The New York season sucked. The last season, I don’t even really remember that much except how it ended.

      • Yeah, I did like the road trip season. That was a good one.

        I suppose I do need to watch the ending, just to say I have.

      • Mooselicker says:

        The ending is “satisfying” in that it does wrap things up and there are a lot of inside jokes that come back…I guess. It’s definitely one of those sad endings though where you miss them all.

  3. Addie says:

    I thought the show jumped the shark in Season 5. But, then, I think most shows do. I vote for all programs, regardless do how beloved they are, end after five seasons with a two hour movie to wrap things up. We need closure–I’m looking at you, HBO/Deadwood. My method prevents 11 years of X-Files (after 5 years, I didn’t care if they were out there) and 47 seasons of MASH, and opens the doors for new writers and directors.

    Just my .02.

    PS I was Freshly Pressed! I can’t stop saying it! Sorry.

    • Mooselicker says:

      Freshly Pressed???? You???? Congratulations!!!!! Are you going to forget about us????

      I got into an argument with someone about Deadwood. He said they weren’t cowboys, they were pioneer men. Very well. Then we get into an argument, him saying cowboys weren’t around during the Civil War. That’s when cowboys were practically peaking! Weeds definitely was a little too long. X-Files was a problem when they no longer had the main characters.

      • Addie says:

        Cowboys were more post War. Custer was a Big Deal at Gettsburg. His charge with Michigan forces caused him to lose around 200 men(?) and two or three horses. It wasn’t a full tactical win, however, he did cause a stragtic loss for Robert E. Lee and J.E.B. Stuart that day.

        Wait. Where was I? Right. In Deadwood, they discuss Custer and his dying at Little Big Horn and how the government coming in to clean out the Sioux will change the Territory. Cowboys had come into being mid 1800’s, but, weren’t huge in our history until after the War.

        I. Am. So. Boring.

        Yes! Me!! Freshly Pressed!!! Who knew a long winded bore would hit the same hights as the droll Lily??

      • Mooselicker says:

        The person I argued with said Deadwood takes places around the 1840s so I was closer without going over as I said it probably took place in the 1860s. He actually watched the show too.

        Your autograph just went up in value.

  4. Addie says:

    Your friend is an idiot. I say that in a kind way.

    Not really.

    Wild Bill Hickok, would have been around 5 in 1840. The character was in the first four or five episodes of Deadwood until he is shot, holding Aces and Eights. the event, both in history and in the show occured in 1876, which is the year the series opens.

    Tell him that.

    I’m going to open bids on eBay starting at $1.47.

  5. SingingTuna says:

    Great review! They should’ve had you write for them.
    ::applause::

    Loved that show. The Botwins made me feel like I had no problems in my life. I was always hoping they’d move in next store so I could try pot. Never have. It was all around me when I was in my teens and 20’s. Musicians! A guy I went out with kept a bag of it in his tuba bell. I asked him years ago why he didn’t offer me a hit and he said it’d be like taking Bambi to a strip club. Hunh. People have no clue about other people.

    You’re going to have to fight me for Andy. I had a little TV crush on him.

    • Mooselicker says:

      A tuba player basically called you a nerd. How nerdy were you?

      • SingingTuna says:

        How nerdy?
        I went to summer school as an early-placement freshman year the year before I started college – to take the music theory, meteorology, and chorus – and every year after not bec I had to but bec I loved going to school. I’d do it again if I had the money.

        I guess that’s sort of nerdy.
        Consistent, anyway…LOL

      • Mooselicker says:

        Hahaha that’s a great example.

Leave a Reply

